This is the 2nd in series of things my Dad taught me:  Coupons!

My Dad always said, “You always pick up money on the street, right? Well, if you don’t what are ya thinking.” Using a coupon is the same as picking up money. Why pay more for an item then you have too? Coupons = FREE $$$!!

I can’t tell you how many times I have saved money on an item. Let me tell you everything goes on sale! And I do mean everything, I actually found a outdoor garbage can on sale when the $3 off was a /HUGE deal to a young money strapped couple starting out. A garbage can is not your usual shower gift! (*Note to self*-you know on one else will give a garbage can filled with supplies).

Make this easy:

-Grab the circular at favorite store when you enter, that is the least painless time item. After all, you are already there-they usually come out Wed. or Thurs. for you to review.

-Coupons already on the store card (always get store cards)

-Coupons in the Sunday newspaper (Sunday paper is free if you use a few coupons from their flyers!)

-Download on-line coupons (fast, you don’t have to leave your desk!)

The last tip is not the easiest to start but, will really help you in the savings department. I have not gotten this far yet but, I have it in the back of my mind to start when I can. My Dad would take the money he saved each grocery trip using coupons and put the money saved in an envelope.

Do you use coupons? What is your best find?

College Highlight:

Western Michigan (https://www.wmich.edu)

