If you have ever shopped on your Florida vacation you know about the Florida based Publix grocery store. I used to shop here with my Grandma and loved their welcoming atmosphere. It is the dominant grocery store in the Deep South. Publix grocery stores just expanded from Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia and South Carolina to here in Charlotte, NC next year.

Why am I writing about a grocery store on a pro-education blog? I’ll tell ya why, along with many other programs they are rolling out, this new favorite hits home. It is called Publix Preschool Pals, https://www.publix.com/preschool/NonMemberHome.do . You get newsletters, access to information their web site, prizes, cards on kid’s birthdays, and access to educational tools for children. Even though I am a non-member I could still join the club.

Publix also participates in the Upromise college savings program, upromise.com. If you are unfamiliar with Upromise, let me tell you it is a painless way to save for college. They have basically two ways to save:

  • Register your gas cards, grocery cards, etc. (shop as usual)
  • Shop thru their links on-line.

They have so many participating stores, like the one’s you already shop. You’ll get some discounts for using their links, and they contribute money for your child’s education. It does add up!

Obviously, Publix is into the promotion of education of young children. Well, I for one would make an effort to reward them for there positive role modeling and I would definitely send a letter thanking them.

Any other early childhood educational programs you’d like to share?

 

College Highlight:

University of Florida

http://www.ufl.edu/

