http://modernkiddo.com

I was OBSESSED with miniature dolls, when I was a little girl in the 70′s. Does anyone remember the small dolls that came inside pieces of  jewelry? They were called Liddle Kiddles and came inside of brooches, earrings, bracelets, and later even ice cream cones and perfume bottles.

I got my first complete set in 1971, when we visited Montana State University in Bozeman,  for a six-week institute, my Dad was a HS administrator. My brother and I were lonely, having no one to play with, and were probably driving my Mom crazy. My Mom took us to see the movie Chitty Chitty Bang Bang,  one hot summer afternoon. After the movie my brother insisted on getting the CCBB car he had seen earlier at the toy store.  I, of course, wanted it also. It had miniature figures of each character inside but, I didn’t let on. I had my eye on the shiny plastic mirror & earrings, Liddle Kiddle set. I’m sure my Mom knew that she was going to have to go back to the student housing, with two tired kids, and nothing to do so, she bought both toys!

That started my collection, and it was added to, played with, and even one of them is buried in my backyard. It fell down a hole made by a swing set post. Remember those backyard swing sets? No one ever cemented them in, and when you swung the whole side rose up and down.

Anybody, remember their first toy love?

College Highlight:

Montana State University   http://www.montana.edu/

Montana State University – Bozeman

Montana State University – Bozeman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

