Imagine: John Lennon (soundtrack)

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”          – John Lennon

What insight John Lennon, had at 5 years old to already realize this. How much can we learn from remembering what made us happy as a child? Here is my top 10 list:

I was happiest when:

1.) I was allowed to walk to school by myself.
2.) I was swinging on the swings and running my shoes through the gravely ground.
3.) I was riding my bike and making figure eight patterns.
4.) I was dancing; the entire world was my stage & the crowds loved me.
5.) I was laughing with my brother on a hot summer afternoon.
6.) I was playing hop scotch on our scratchy sidewalk.
7.) I was baking & eating hot fresh cookies.
8.) I was playing with my dolls or toys.
9.) I shared secret smile with a  girlfriend.
10.) I was getting ice cream from the truck in the street.

As an adult I have learned that we always seem to assign a finite time to do something & hardly ever just lose ourselves in the joy of the experience. We need to be more child-like in the way we see the world. We need to start today to tap into our child-selves & relieve some of the stress & worry that adulthood can bring.

What made you happy as a child? Write it down. Share it with me & yourself!

