I’m really good at saving to buy something or for the future

starbucks cinnamon dolce latte

starbucks cinnamon dolce latte (Photo credit: dmoola)

but, if I don’t have a picture of that item in front of me, I forget why I’m saving. That Skinny Dolce Cinnamon Latte calls me to come and get it every time. I need to be reminded what that $5 can get me in the long run and it doesn’t take to long to add up to $100, etc.

I think as the old proverb goes, “People don’t plan to fail, they fail to plan” is so true. I see this in the savings arena as a must do. You have to have a goal, like some of my wonderful blogger friends, GenYGirl, University Ave, Will Cooke, & The Nomad Grad. They are all much younger than me but, really have a better grasp on their wants & needs in this life. They actually make money and save it so they can travel & succeed to live the lifestyle they envision themselves in.

Saving is hard and takes a lot of thought. This is what I do:

1.) Get a picture of where you want to go or what you want and put it on the side of your computer or bathroom mirror where you are sure to see it everyday.
2.) When you look at it visualize yourself there, the sites, sounds, smells, what you’ll eat/drink, etc.
3.) Make a plan. Say save $5.00 a day or don’t spend your change. But be aggressive, this is what YOU want & the only one keeping it from you is you.
4.) Keep a running count of the money you’ve saved. This is the way to any goal-I have to see it growing or I get discouraged.
5.) Stash it where you can’t get at it. Yes, I actually have to go into the bank to deposit the $5’s I accumulate but, I also can’t get to them when an “emergency” strikes like a girl scout selling cookies at the door.
6.) When your goal is reached don’t, close your account or stop saving. You know there is always a “next thing” that has to be had. Start over again!

Save Money

Save Money (Photo credit: 401K)

I feel so much better about the long hours that I put in at my job when I know I’m going to get something out of it instead of just paying more bills. Sometimes, you just feel like you do the same thing day in and day out but, for the one day you get to your goal, everything suddenly seems worth it.

